Margin of safety, Cost Accounting

Assignment Help:

Margin of safety

Measures the sensitivity of budgeted sales volume compared with break-even sales volume. The difference between level of sales activity achieved and level of sales activity required to break-even in absolute or percentage terms.

Margin of safety (units)= Budgeted sales volume less Break-even sales volume

Margin of safety (%)= (Budgeted sales less Break-even sales volume/ Budgeted sales volume) x 100 Number of units sold to achieve a target profit= (Fixed cost + Target profit)/Contribution per unit


Related Discussions:- Margin of safety

You should be willing to pay the worker , You are the manager of a firm tha...

You are the manager of a firm that sells output at a price of $40 per unit. You are interested in hiring a new worker who will increase your firm's output by 2,000 units per year.

Answer, Chen Enterprises purchased 67,000 pounds (cost = $616,400) of direc...

Chen Enterprises purchased 67,000 pounds (cost = $616,400) of direct material to be used in the manufacture of the company''s only product.

Financial statement issues that are unique to manufacturers, Financial Stat...

Financial Statement Issues that are Unique to Manufacturers Different from the retailers, manufacturers have three exclusive inventory category: 1) Raw Materials, 2)Work in

Cost acunting, Weston Corporation manufactures a product that is available ...

Weston Corporation manufactures a product that is available in both a deluxe and a regular model. The company has made the regular model for years; the deluxe model was introduced

Cost profit volume analysis, COST PROFIT VOLUME ANALYSIS Cost profit vo...

COST PROFIT VOLUME ANALYSIS Cost profit volume (CVP) analysis is an essential tool for profit planning. It can be explained  as - ' a managerial tool showing the relationship a

What is the dollar amount of direct material a, Win Corporation sells a sin...

Win Corporation sells a single product. Budgeted sales for the year are anticipated to be 609,725 units, estimated beginning inventory is 107,791 units, and desired ending inventor

Contract costing terminology, Contract Costing Terminology Principles ...

Contract Costing Terminology Principles of profit income recognition in contracts The Notional Profit This is a component of two items as: a) Profit taken   = Noti

Prepare cash budget of a company, Prepare Cash Budget of a Company The...

Prepare Cash Budget of a Company The given information concerned to the proposed budget for a company for the months ending on 31 December 1996. Additional Information

Assessment item 2, rocess costing Prepare a spreadsheet to solve the follow...

rocess costing Prepare a spreadsheet to solve the following process costing problem. Review the four process costing videos provided in Interact Resources. Note that in the situati

Types of standard costs, Types of Standard Costs The standard cost set...

Types of Standard Costs The standard cost set could be ideal, basic, attainable or current. i. Basic Standards: These are long term standards that would keep unchanged ov

Write Your Message!

Captcha
Free Assignment Quote

Assured A++ Grade

Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!

All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd