Margin of safety, Cost Accounting

Assignment Help:

Margin of safety

Measures the sensitivity of budgeted sales volume compared with break-even sales volume. The difference between level of sales activity achieved and level of sales activity required to break-even in absolute or percentage terms.

Margin of safety (units)= Budgeted sales volume less Break-even sales volume

Margin of safety (%)= (Budgeted sales less Break-even sales volume/ Budgeted sales volume) x 100 Number of units sold to achieve a target profit= (Fixed cost + Target profit)/Contribution per unit


Related Discussions:- Margin of safety

Marginal costing, a company wants to buy a new machine to replace on which ...

a company wants to buy a new machine to replace on which is having frequent breakdown.............. .......... c-the models suitable for different levels for demand of product?

Prepare the material cost budget of products of a company, Prepare the Mate...

Prepare the Material Cost Budget of products of a Company For a company along with many products, a periodic budget would be developed given as: Assume a firm has 3 products X

What is subphylum uniramia, Tlie subphylum is called Uniramia because of t...

Tlie subphylum is called Uniramia because of the presence of unbranched appendages. These animals have non-jointed mandibles, uubranched appendages without any palps. They have

Managerial accounting, Classic Coolers manufactures portable coolers adorne...

Classic Coolers manufactures portable coolers adorned with college logos. During the first quarter of the year, the company had the following costs: Direct materials used $55,500 D

Literature review - effectiveness auditing, EFFECTIVENESS AUDITING is one t...

EFFECTIVENESS AUDITING is one type of internal audit. Describe and evaluate this type of internal audit. What types of organisation would it be most useful for? Required: 1)

Determine the current profits, Two firms compete in a homogenous product ma...

Two firms compete in a homogenous product market where the inverse demand function is P = 10 - 2Q (quantity is measured in millions). Firm 1 has been in business for 1 year, while

Trypanosoma, Place a prepared slide of Trypunosoma under tlic microscope an...

Place a prepared slide of Trypunosoma under tlic microscope and focus it under low power, You will observe large number of tiny spindle-shaped trypanosomes lying in the plasma alll

Disadvantages of standard costing, Disadvantages of Standard Costing ...

Disadvantages of Standard Costing 1. The system of standard costing is very expensive to install : A lot of money is spent in studying output requirements in terms of materia

Sales revenue variance (srv), SALES REVENUE VARIANCE (SRV) The word 'Sa...

SALES REVENUE VARIANCE (SRV) The word 'Sales Variance' is indicated by the expression 'operating profit variance due to sales' by ICMA.  It is described as 'the difference betw

Write Your Message!

Captcha
Free Assignment Quote

Assured A++ Grade

Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!

All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd