Margin of safety, Cost Accounting

Assignment Help:

Margin of safety

Measures the sensitivity of budgeted sales volume compared with break-even sales volume. The difference between level of sales activity achieved and level of sales activity required to break-even in absolute or percentage terms.

Margin of safety (units)= Budgeted sales volume less Break-even sales volume

Margin of safety (%)= (Budgeted sales less Break-even sales volume/ Budgeted sales volume) x 100 Number of units sold to achieve a target profit= (Fixed cost + Target profit)/Contribution per unit


Related Discussions:- Margin of safety

Features of effective cost center framework, Features of Effective Cost Cen...

Features of Effective Cost Center Framework During the establishing cost centers, an organization must consider the given points as: a) Clear definition about the cost cent

Price and quality aspect of variance, Price and Quality Aspect of Variance ...

Price and Quality Aspect of Variance At this point it is serious to understand that all variance has two aspects, a price aspect and a quantity aspect: these two aspects combi

Audit plan, 1. You are required to download the latest annual report publis...

1. You are required to download the latest annual report published by one of the following institutions: - Adult Multicultural Education Services - Centre for Adult Education

Calculate cost for each unit, Dropping a segment - George's Grill analyzes ...

Dropping a segment - George's Grill analyzes profitability of three operating units: restaurant, bar, and billiards room. Revenues, variable costs, and attributable fixed costs (wh

Calculate the variable cost, Workmen shoes accumulated the following produc...

Workmen shoes accumulated the following production and cost data for the past 5 months. i)  Using the high/low method calculate the variable cost per unit and the fixed cos

Product versus period costs, Product Versus Period Costs Another way to...

Product Versus Period Costs Another way to look at manufacturing costs is to think of them as attaching to a product. In other words, goods result from the manufacturing proces

Optimal profit maximizing pricing strategy, Now assume that it is possible ...

Now assume that it is possible to distinguish consumer types one and two and there are no consumers of type three and the firm can charge a two part tariff. What would the optimal

Prepare a spreadsheet of an overhead budget, Prepare a spreadsheet of an ov...

Prepare a spreadsheet of an overhead budget for the company in Problem 5 on page 216 of the textbook. You have been running a construction company out of your home with your spouse

How many coupon bonds would you need to issue, 1. Suppose your company need...

1. Suppose your company needs to raise $30 million and you want to issue 30-year bonds for this purpose. Assume the required return on your bond issue will be 8 percent, and you're

Write Your Message!

Captcha
Free Assignment Quote

Assured A++ Grade

Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!

All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd