Already have an account? Get multiple benefits of using own account!
Login in your account..!
Remember me
Don't have an account? Create your account in less than a minutes,
Forgot password? how can I recover my password now!
Enter right registered email to receive password!
Product Versus Period Costs
Another way to look at manufacturing costs is to think of them as attaching to a product. In other words, goods result from the manufacturing process and "product costs" are the summation of direct labour, direct materials, and factory overhead. This is perhaps simple enough to understand. But, how are such costs handled in accounting records?
To create your understanding of the answer to this question, think back to your prior studies about how the retailer accounts for its inventory costs. When inventory is purchased/buy, it constitutes benefit on the balance sheet which is the "inventory". This inventory remains as the benefit until the goods are sold, at which point inventory is gone, and cost of inventory is transferred to the cost of goods sold on income statement to be matched with the revenue from the sale.
By analogy, a manufacturer pours money into the direct materials, manufacturing direct labour and overhead. Should this spent money be expensed on income statement immediately? No! This collection of the costs constitutes the benefit on the balance sheet ("inventory"). This inventory remains as benefit until the goods are sold, at which point the inventory is gone, and the cost of the inventory is transferred to cost of goods sold on income statement (to be matched with revenue from sale). There is small difference between a retailer and the manufacturer in this regard, except that the manufacturer is acquiring its inventory via a series of expenditures (for material, labour, etc.), somewhat than in one fell swoop. What is significant to note about product costs is that they attach to inventory and are thus said to be the "inventorial" costs.
The activity driver for the shipping activity is the number of orders shipped. Product A uses 20 orders and Product B uses 60 orders. Calculate the consumption ratios for each prod
#questionFrame-it Ltd is a manufacturer of metal picture frames. The firm''s two product lines are designate S (small frames: 12 x18 cm) and L (large frames: 20 x 25 cm). The prima
Estimate the Growth rate of stock Data stock price = 53 rate of return= 12% expected dividend = 3.15 Formula : Expected return = (dividend paid + capital
1. The bank added another company's deposit to our account. This would be included on the bank reconciliation as a(n). a) addition to the balance per books. b) subtraction from the
Dividends ................ Non-operating losses not passed through P and L A/c
Corporation has determined the contribution margin ratio is 35% and the income tax rate is 40%. Required: A) Assume break-even volume in dollars is $1,500,000. What are total fixed
Learning Objective: After completing the project, the student will have gained familiarity, understanding and mastery of programming a realistic but simple application in Assembly
exercise solution
What are 'potential' ordinary shares? In your answer provide three examples to support your explanation. Briefly outline the process (steps) to determine whether 'potential' ordi
Goga Ltd is busy building a five-star hotel in the area, they use the percentage of completion method to determine profits and would like to calculate the profit for the year. dra
Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!
whatsapp: +91-977-207-8620
Phone: +91-977-207-8620
Email: [email protected]
All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd