Example of flexible and fixed budget, Cost Accounting

Assignment Help:

Example of Flexible and Fixed Budget

A company has budgeted to produce and sell 100,000 units of cakes throughout the next period. The selling price per cake is Sh. 20 and variable cost per cake is Sh. 12.  Fixed overheads are budgeted to at Sh. 6000,000.

Additional information

1. Fixed costs will raises to Sh. 700,000 in that activity is in excess of 110,000 units; Fixed costs will decreases to Sh. 480,000 where activity level is less than 90,000 units.

2. Variable costs will fall with 5 percent per unit cake of all units where activity is in excess of 100,000 cakes due to the economies of scale.

The real results of the period in that 115,000 units cakes were produced and then sold were:

1. Sales revenue Sh. 2,242,500

2. Variable costs Sh. 1,320,000

3. Fixed costs Sh. 67,000

Required

1. Prepare a summary that Implies the budgeted results for activity levels from 80,000 to 120,000 cakes utilizing the above information.

2. Prepare a control statement comparing budgeted along with real results where a fixed budget system is utlized based on 100,000 units.

Solution

                                    Flexible Budget Summary

Units

 80,000

90,000

100,000

110,000

 120,000

Sales Revenue

1,600,000

1,800,000

2,000,000

2,200,000

2,400,000

Variable cost

690,000

108,000

120,000

1,254,000

1,368,000

Contribution

640,000

720,000

800,000

946,000

1,032,000

Fixed Costs

480,000

600,000

  600,00

600,000

700,000

Net Profit

160,000

  120,00

200,000

346,000

332,000

 

  Control Statement (Fixed Budget)

 

Budget

Actual

Variance

Units

100,000

115,00

15,00 (F)

Sales Revenue

2,000,000

2,242,500

242,500 (A)

Variable Cost

1,200,000

1,320,000

120,000    F  

Contribution

800,000

922,500

122,500 (A)

Fixed Costs

600,000

670,000

70,000 (A)

Net Profit

200,000

252,500

525,000 (F)


Related Discussions:- Example of flexible and fixed budget

Advantages of standard costing, Advantages of Standard Costing 1. Man...

Advantages of Standard Costing 1. Management via Exception: the standard costing is an example for management via exception. By studying the variances, management's attentio

Business and the generation of accounting standards, This time of year we a...

This time of year we all here about football. For me it is the bad news of how poorly the Buffalo Bills are performing. Hopefully your favorite team is doing well. One thing we

Calculate the current stock price, The Bloomington Electric Company operate...

The Bloomington Electric Company operates in a stable industry and therefore has predictable dividend growth of 8% per year. The most recent annual dividend was paid yesterday in t

Determine the acquisition cost, Waterloo Machining, Inc. paid $1,800,000 fo...

Waterloo Machining, Inc. paid $1,800,000 for factory equipment on January 1, 2012. It paid $100,000 for delivery and $220,000 for installation and modifications.  Waterloo received

Prepare a regular income tax return, Facts:   James (age 58, SS# 123-34-...

Facts:   James (age 58, SS# 123-34-4439) and Martha (age 56; SS# 233-23-9050) Williams are married. James works at a major retailer as manager of the early shift. Martha is a nu

Cost, what is traditional costing system

what is traditional costing system

Process losses, Process Losses Most manufacturing processes result in ...

Process Losses Most manufacturing processes result in several portion of the raw materials utilized not being transformed into a reliable half losses.  These losses may take t

Calculate over applied overhead for last year, The following information re...

The following information relates to Araceli Manufacturing Company: total estimated manufacturing overhead cost at beginning of year $864,000 predetermined overhead rate (based

What are total fixed cost, Corporation has determined the contribution marg...

Corporation has determined the contribution margin ratio is 35% and the income tax rate is 40%. Required: A) Assume break-even volume in dollars is $1,500,000. What are total fixed

Managerial accounting, Classic Coolers manufactures portable coolers adorne...

Classic Coolers manufactures portable coolers adorned with college logos. During the first quarter of the year, the company had the following costs: Direct materials used $55,500 D

Write Your Message!

Captcha
Free Assignment Quote

Assured A++ Grade

Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!

All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd