Already have an account? Get multiple benefits of using own account!
Login in your account..!
Remember me
Don't have an account? Create your account in less than a minutes,
Forgot password? how can I recover my password now!
Enter right registered email to receive password!
Determine Profit in Long-Term
To demonstrate the point about profit in the long-term, let us assume that a company sells and makes a single product. There are no opening stocks of the product at the beginning of period 1, for that the variable production cost is Ksh.4 and the sales price Ksh.6 per unit. However fixed costs are Ksh.2, 000 per period, of that Ksh.1, 500 are fixed production costs,
Period
Period 2
Sales
1,200 units
1,800 units
Production
1,500 units
What would the profit be in all period utilizing the following methods of costing?
a) Absorption costing. Suppose usual output is 1,500 units per period.
b) Marginal costing.
Solution
It is significant to notice that even if sales and production volumes in each period are different and then the profit for each period via absorption costing will be different from the profit via marginal costing, over the full period, net production equals sales volume, the net cost of sales is the similar, and hence the net profit is the same via either method of accounting.
a) Absorption costing: the absorption rate for fixed production overhead is,
= £ 1,500/£1,500 units
= £ 1 per unit
Period 1
Period 3
Ksh.
7,200
10,800
Production costs
Variable
6,000
12,000
Fixed
1,500
3,000
7,500
15,000
Add opening stock b/f
-
9,000
Less closing stock c/f
Production cost of sales
6,00
(Under-)/over-absorbed overhead
Total production costs
Gross profit
1,200
1,800
Other costs
500
1,000
Net profit
700
1,300
2,000
b) Marginal Costing
Variable production cost
Variable production cost of sales
4,800
Contribution
2,400
3,600
Fixed costs
4,000
Profit
400
1,600
Using the chosen company from Bursa Malaysia, prepare a consolidated accounts assuming that the chosen company acquire Sure Cargo Behard at 80% of its ordinary shares. Given bel
Using the table below, calculate the amount of overall increase of your purchasing power over the period of 5 years given the annual investment return rates and annual inflation ra
Does it make sense for PP's management to use so many discount rates in its evaluation? Explain. What additional information would you like to have to make a more informed decis
The San Carlos Company is an electronics business with eight product lines. Income data for one of the products (XT-107) for June 2011 are as follows: Revenues, 200,000 units at av
Q. What was the amount of cash a firm collected from its customers, given the following fact set? The firm's balance sheets at the beginning and end of the year show gross accou
When firms enter into loan agreements with their bank it is very common for the agreement to have a restriction on the minimum current ratio the firm has to maintain. So, it is imp
Atlanta Company stock is expected to follow an exponential growth rate. The relationship between the current stock price P0, future price PT after time T, and the continuously comp
Marginal Cost (MC): The marginal cost of an additional unit of output is the cost of the additional inputs required to make that output. More formally, the marginal cost is the
Cal Farms reported a supplies expense of $2,000,000 a year. The supplies amount decreased by 200,000 during the year to an ending balance of $400,000. What was the cost of supplies
Q. Can FCA Help Compare Opening A New Landfill Versus Building A Wasteto-Energy Incinerator? Ans. Yes. The principles of FCA are precisely the same no matter how you relat
Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!
whatsapp: +91-977-207-8620
Phone: +91-977-207-8620
Email: [email protected]
All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd