Determine profit in long-term, Cost Accounting

Assignment Help:

Determine Profit in Long-Term

To demonstrate the point about profit in the long-term, let us assume that a company sells and makes a single product.  There are no opening stocks of the product at the beginning of period 1, for that the variable production cost is Ksh.4 and the sales price Ksh.6 per unit. However fixed costs are Ksh.2, 000 per period, of that Ksh.1, 500 are fixed production costs,

 

Period

Period 2

Sales

1,200 units

1,800 units

Production

1,500 units

1,500 units

What would the profit be in all period utilizing the following methods of costing?

a) Absorption costing.  Suppose usual output is 1,500 units per period.

b) Marginal costing.

Solution

It is significant to notice that even if sales and production volumes in each period are different and then the profit for each period via absorption costing will be different from the profit via marginal costing, over the full period, net production equals sales volume, the net cost of sales is the similar, and hence the net profit is the same via either method of accounting.

a) Absorption costing: the absorption rate for fixed production overhead is,

= £ 1,500/£1,500 units

= £ 1 per unit

 

Period 1

Period 2

Period 3

 

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Sales

 

7,200

 

10,800

 

 

Production costs

 

 

 

 

 

 

     Variable

6,000

 

6,000

 

12,000

 

     Fixed

1,500

 

1,500

 

 3,000

 

 

7,500

 

7,500

 

15,000

 

Add opening stock b/f

      -

 

1,500

 

        -

 

 

7,500

 

9,000

 

15,000

 

Less closing stock c/f

1,500

 

-

 

-

 

Production cost of sales

6,00

 

9,000

 

 

 

(Under-)/over-absorbed overhead

-

 

-

 

 

 

Total production costs

 

6,000

 

9,000

 

15,000

Gross profit

 

1,200

 

1,800

 

3,000

Other costs

 

  500

 

  500

 

1,000

Net profit

 

  700

 

1,300

 

2,000

b) Marginal Costing

 

Period 1

Period 2

Period 3

 

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

          Sales

 

7,200

 

10,800

 

10,800

       Variable production cost

6,000

 

6,000

 

12,000

 

        Add opening stock b/f

      -

 

1,200

 

-

 

 

6,000

 

7,200

 

12,000

 

          Less closing stock c/f

1,200

 

-

 

-

 

 Variable production cost of sales

 

4,800

 

7,200

 

12,000

         Contribution

 

2,400

 

3,600

 

6,000

          Fixed costs

 

2,000

 

2,000

 

4,000

         Profit

 

400

 

1,600

 

2,000


Related Discussions:- Determine profit in long-term

Calculate the moderate earnings per share, A listed entity, had 3,000,000 $...

A listed entity, had 3,000,000 $1 ordinary shares in issue, On 1 January 2009 CSA.CSA made a bonus issue of 1 for 3, On 1 May 2009. CSA issued 2,000,000 $1 ordinary shares for $3.2

Limitations of cost accounting, LIMITATIONS OF COST ACCOUNTING Cost Acc...

LIMITATIONS OF COST ACCOUNTING Cost Accounting similar to additional branches of accountancy is not an precise science although is an art which was developed throughout theorie

Direct cost as a relevant cost, Direct Cost as a Relevant Cost Direct ...

Direct Cost as a Relevant Cost Direct costs may be directly chargeable to a cost center or a product. They may be fixed costs or variable costs whereas it comes to decision-ma

Piece wage rate, what is Taylor''s differential piece rate plan

what is Taylor''s differential piece rate plan

Cost bookkeeping, what are the accounting entries for interlocking and int...

what are the accounting entries for interlocking and integrated systems of cost accounting?

What is the total cost of the work in process, The Cutting Department of th...

The Cutting Department of the Rock Island Custom Cabinetry Corporation (a process costing production) had no work in process at the beginning of the period, 12,000 units were compl

Give feasibility study and propose an electronic system, A small company em...

A small company employing around 25 people manufactures and sells anthropometric measuring equipment - equipment used mainly in hospitals to measure the height and other dimensions

Costs and revenue, Costs and Revenue Cost of the development work ...

Costs and Revenue Cost of the development work done in-house to 1 January 2009 has been £1.5m with a further cost of £50,000 per month from now until the software is ready

Calculate the total net realizable value, Surplus Stores Ltd is a company w...

Surplus Stores Ltd is a company which frequently buy goods in large quantities and makes alterations to the goods before selling. At 31 Dec 2000 the following items were included i

Calculate the total revenue, Mandy Building Contractors Ltd signed a fixed-...

Mandy Building Contractors Ltd signed a fixed-price contract to build a bridge for Nelly Ltd for $110 million on 1 July 2012.  Contract costs are estimated as follows:

Write Your Message!

Captcha
Free Assignment Quote

Assured A++ Grade

Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!

All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd