Determine profit in long-term, Cost Accounting

Assignment Help:

Determine Profit in Long-Term

To demonstrate the point about profit in the long-term, let us assume that a company sells and makes a single product.  There are no opening stocks of the product at the beginning of period 1, for that the variable production cost is Ksh.4 and the sales price Ksh.6 per unit. However fixed costs are Ksh.2, 000 per period, of that Ksh.1, 500 are fixed production costs,

 

Period

Period 2

Sales

1,200 units

1,800 units

Production

1,500 units

1,500 units

What would the profit be in all period utilizing the following methods of costing?

a) Absorption costing.  Suppose usual output is 1,500 units per period.

b) Marginal costing.

Solution

It is significant to notice that even if sales and production volumes in each period are different and then the profit for each period via absorption costing will be different from the profit via marginal costing, over the full period, net production equals sales volume, the net cost of sales is the similar, and hence the net profit is the same via either method of accounting.

a) Absorption costing: the absorption rate for fixed production overhead is,

= £ 1,500/£1,500 units

= £ 1 per unit

 

Period 1

Period 2

Period 3

 

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Sales

 

7,200

 

10,800

 

 

Production costs

 

 

 

 

 

 

     Variable

6,000

 

6,000

 

12,000

 

     Fixed

1,500

 

1,500

 

 3,000

 

 

7,500

 

7,500

 

15,000

 

Add opening stock b/f

      -

 

1,500

 

        -

 

 

7,500

 

9,000

 

15,000

 

Less closing stock c/f

1,500

 

-

 

-

 

Production cost of sales

6,00

 

9,000

 

 

 

(Under-)/over-absorbed overhead

-

 

-

 

 

 

Total production costs

 

6,000

 

9,000

 

15,000

Gross profit

 

1,200

 

1,800

 

3,000

Other costs

 

  500

 

  500

 

1,000

Net profit

 

  700

 

1,300

 

2,000

b) Marginal Costing

 

Period 1

Period 2

Period 3

 

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

          Sales

 

7,200

 

10,800

 

10,800

       Variable production cost

6,000

 

6,000

 

12,000

 

        Add opening stock b/f

      -

 

1,200

 

-

 

 

6,000

 

7,200

 

12,000

 

          Less closing stock c/f

1,200

 

-

 

-

 

 Variable production cost of sales

 

4,800

 

7,200

 

12,000

         Contribution

 

2,400

 

3,600

 

6,000

          Fixed costs

 

2,000

 

2,000

 

4,000

         Profit

 

400

 

1,600

 

2,000


Related Discussions:- Determine profit in long-term

Cvp analysis, the formula of culculating product cost per unit

the formula of culculating product cost per unit

Compute the net cash used (provided) by financing activities, Martinez Corp...

Martinez Corporation engaged in the following cash transactions during 2012. Sale of land and building $186,710 Purchase of treasury stock 42,130 Purchase of land 39,130

Overhead absorption, Overhead Absorption Absorption of overheads refer...

Overhead Absorption Absorption of overheads refers to the sharing out of overhead costs to the some cost centers such used the overheads. This is utilized when the overheads c

Activity-based costing and throughput accounting, The  basic  principles ...

The  basic  principles  of  standard  costing  and  variance  analysis  may  be  adapted  to  the needs of  relatively  new  methods  of  accounting  such  as  activity-based  cost

Explain how individual items of costs will be traced, Glaser Health Product...

Glaser Health Products of Ranier Falls, Georgia, is organized functionally into three divisions: Operations, Sales, and Administrative. Purchasing, receiving, materials and product

Long run average marginal cost curves of the firm, Q. Let a firm's producti...

Q. Let a firm's production function be given by K 0.3 L 0.7 . (i) Sketch (without specific numbers) the shape of the long run average and long-run marginal cost curves of the fir

Calculate the average cost, Seventeen new bathing suit stores enter the San...

Seventeen new bathing suit stores enter the Santa Barbara market, joining the seven that already existed. As a consequence, the demand schedule facing Swim N Style (and all other s

Estimate total money using marginal and average tax rate, Thomas Crown expe...

Thomas Crown expects to earn the following stream of annual income for the next four years:- $41,000; $45,000; $38,000 and $50,000. Although he has adopted the Pay Yourself First s

#investment appraisal techniques, #what is the formula for calculating payb...

#what is the formula for calculating payback period and what are its limitations ?

allocate the support departments costs , Support Department Cost Allocatio...

Support Department Cost Allocations. Riverside Furniture Company manufactures unfinished furniture for sale to retailers. Riverside has two support departments, Maintenance and Hu

Write Your Message!

Captcha
Free Assignment Quote

Assured A++ Grade

Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!

All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd