Already have an account? Get multiple benefits of using own account!
Login in your account..!
Remember me
Don't have an account? Create your account in less than a minutes,
Forgot password? how can I recover my password now!
Enter right registered email to receive password!
Determine Profit in Long-Term
To demonstrate the point about profit in the long-term, let us assume that a company sells and makes a single product. There are no opening stocks of the product at the beginning of period 1, for that the variable production cost is Ksh.4 and the sales price Ksh.6 per unit. However fixed costs are Ksh.2, 000 per period, of that Ksh.1, 500 are fixed production costs,
Period
Period 2
Sales
1,200 units
1,800 units
Production
1,500 units
What would the profit be in all period utilizing the following methods of costing?
a) Absorption costing. Suppose usual output is 1,500 units per period.
b) Marginal costing.
Solution
It is significant to notice that even if sales and production volumes in each period are different and then the profit for each period via absorption costing will be different from the profit via marginal costing, over the full period, net production equals sales volume, the net cost of sales is the similar, and hence the net profit is the same via either method of accounting.
a) Absorption costing: the absorption rate for fixed production overhead is,
= £ 1,500/£1,500 units
= £ 1 per unit
Period 1
Period 3
Ksh.
7,200
10,800
Production costs
Variable
6,000
12,000
Fixed
1,500
3,000
7,500
15,000
Add opening stock b/f
-
9,000
Less closing stock c/f
Production cost of sales
6,00
(Under-)/over-absorbed overhead
Total production costs
Gross profit
1,200
1,800
Other costs
500
1,000
Net profit
700
1,300
2,000
b) Marginal Costing
Variable production cost
Variable production cost of sales
4,800
Contribution
2,400
3,600
Fixed costs
4,000
Profit
400
1,600
Contract Accounts It is a separate account such is maintained and opened for every contract undertaken for the reasons of accumulating cots. Every contract is given a number
The following is a summary of a cash book for the year ended 31 April 2012 Payments $ Receipts
Normal 0 false false false EN-IN X-NONE X-NONE MicrosoftInternetExplorer4 Variable costs are those
Ordering cost is incurred whenever the inventory is replenished. It includes costs associated with the processing and chasing of the purchase order transportation, inspec
Problem: A satellite is launched into Earth orbit by a Delta II launch vehicle (LV). The Delta LV's engines do not perform as expected, and at upper-stage burnout the satellite
using the high low method how do i calculate the costs that are expected when the output expected is out of the range given for example cost prdctn volume 110000
a machine is purchased on july 1 2009 for $181,500. It has an expected useful life of 11 years and no salvage value. After five years, the machine is sold for $98,000 cash. What is
Features of Effective Cost Center Framework During the establishing cost centers, an organization must consider the given points as: a) Clear definition about the cost cent
Determine Profit in Long-Term To demonstrate the point about profit in the long-term, let us assume that a company sells and makes a single product. There are no opening stoc
#question techniques of payment under group bonus plan .
Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!
whatsapp: +91-977-207-8620
Phone: +91-977-207-8620
Email: [email protected]
All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd