Already have an account? Get multiple benefits of using own account!
Login in your account..!
Remember me
Don't have an account? Create your account in less than a minutes,
Forgot password? how can I recover my password now!
Enter right registered email to receive password!
Determine Profit in Long-Term
To demonstrate the point about profit in the long-term, let us assume that a company sells and makes a single product. There are no opening stocks of the product at the beginning of period 1, for that the variable production cost is Ksh.4 and the sales price Ksh.6 per unit. However fixed costs are Ksh.2, 000 per period, of that Ksh.1, 500 are fixed production costs,
Period
Period 2
Sales
1,200 units
1,800 units
Production
1,500 units
What would the profit be in all period utilizing the following methods of costing?
a) Absorption costing. Suppose usual output is 1,500 units per period.
b) Marginal costing.
Solution
It is significant to notice that even if sales and production volumes in each period are different and then the profit for each period via absorption costing will be different from the profit via marginal costing, over the full period, net production equals sales volume, the net cost of sales is the similar, and hence the net profit is the same via either method of accounting.
a) Absorption costing: the absorption rate for fixed production overhead is,
= £ 1,500/£1,500 units
= £ 1 per unit
Period 1
Period 3
Ksh.
7,200
10,800
Production costs
Variable
6,000
12,000
Fixed
1,500
3,000
7,500
15,000
Add opening stock b/f
-
9,000
Less closing stock c/f
Production cost of sales
6,00
(Under-)/over-absorbed overhead
Total production costs
Gross profit
1,200
1,800
Other costs
500
1,000
Net profit
700
1,300
2,000
b) Marginal Costing
Variable production cost
Variable production cost of sales
4,800
Contribution
2,400
3,600
Fixed costs
4,000
Profit
400
1,600
Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of designing an IC using VHDL and synthesis compared with the traditional design approach using schematic capture, simulation and layout.
How relevant to the decision are the $800(000) initial cost of the project and the operating losses of $300(000)? Calculate the incremental liquidation cash flows for the abando
given formula
Making Variance Analysis More Meaningful To compose variance analysis as useful aid to management is the main objective of variance calculations. However this can only be don
On January 1, 2013, VKI Corporation awarded 12 million of its $1 par common shares to key personnel, subject to forfeiture if employment is terminated within three years. On the gr
You are considering starting a walk-in-clinic. Your financial projections for the first year of operations are as follows: Revenues (10,000 visits) $400
Support Department Cost Allocations. Riverside Furniture Company manufactures unfinished furniture for sale to retailers. Riverside has two support departments, Maintenance and Hu
Tyler's Consulting Company has purchased a new $15,000 copier. This overhead cost will be shared by the purchasing, accounting, and information technology departments since those a
QUESTION 1: PART A Swatathon Inc. has two production departments (A and B) and two service departments (maintenance and stores). Details of next year's budgeted overheads
an application of marginal costing
Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!
whatsapp: +91-977-207-8620
Phone: +91-977-207-8620
Email: [email protected]
All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd