Determine profit in long-term, Cost Accounting

Assignment Help:

Determine Profit in Long-Term

To demonstrate the point about profit in the long-term, let us assume that a company sells and makes a single product.  There are no opening stocks of the product at the beginning of period 1, for that the variable production cost is Ksh.4 and the sales price Ksh.6 per unit. However fixed costs are Ksh.2, 000 per period, of that Ksh.1, 500 are fixed production costs,

 

Period

Period 2

Sales

1,200 units

1,800 units

Production

1,500 units

1,500 units

What would the profit be in all period utilizing the following methods of costing?

a) Absorption costing.  Suppose usual output is 1,500 units per period.

b) Marginal costing.

Solution

It is significant to notice that even if sales and production volumes in each period are different and then the profit for each period via absorption costing will be different from the profit via marginal costing, over the full period, net production equals sales volume, the net cost of sales is the similar, and hence the net profit is the same via either method of accounting.

a) Absorption costing: the absorption rate for fixed production overhead is,

= £ 1,500/£1,500 units

= £ 1 per unit

 

Period 1

Period 2

Period 3

 

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Sales

 

7,200

 

10,800

 

 

Production costs

 

 

 

 

 

 

     Variable

6,000

 

6,000

 

12,000

 

     Fixed

1,500

 

1,500

 

 3,000

 

 

7,500

 

7,500

 

15,000

 

Add opening stock b/f

      -

 

1,500

 

        -

 

 

7,500

 

9,000

 

15,000

 

Less closing stock c/f

1,500

 

-

 

-

 

Production cost of sales

6,00

 

9,000

 

 

 

(Under-)/over-absorbed overhead

-

 

-

 

 

 

Total production costs

 

6,000

 

9,000

 

15,000

Gross profit

 

1,200

 

1,800

 

3,000

Other costs

 

  500

 

  500

 

1,000

Net profit

 

  700

 

1,300

 

2,000

b) Marginal Costing

 

Period 1

Period 2

Period 3

 

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

          Sales

 

7,200

 

10,800

 

10,800

       Variable production cost

6,000

 

6,000

 

12,000

 

        Add opening stock b/f

      -

 

1,200

 

-

 

 

6,000

 

7,200

 

12,000

 

          Less closing stock c/f

1,200

 

-

 

-

 

 Variable production cost of sales

 

4,800

 

7,200

 

12,000

         Contribution

 

2,400

 

3,600

 

6,000

          Fixed costs

 

2,000

 

2,000

 

4,000

         Profit

 

400

 

1,600

 

2,000


Related Discussions:- Determine profit in long-term

Advantages and disadvantages of designing an ic, Discuss the advantages and...

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of designing an IC using VHDL and synthesis compared with the traditional design approach using schematic capture, simulation and layout.

Calculate the incremental liquidation cash flows, How relevant to the decis...

How relevant to the decision are the $800(000) initial cost of the project and the operating losses of $300(000)? Calculate the incremental liquidation cash flows for the abando

Making variance analysis more meaningful, Making Variance Analysis More Mea...

Making Variance Analysis More Meaningful To compose variance analysis as useful aid to management is the main objective of variance calculations.  However this can only be don

Determine the total compensation cost, On January 1, 2013, VKI Corporation ...

On January 1, 2013, VKI Corporation awarded 12 million of its $1 par common shares to key personnel, subject to forfeiture if employment is terminated within three years. On the gr

Construct p&l statement , You are considering starting a walk-in-clinic.  ...

You are considering starting a walk-in-clinic.  Your financial projections for the first year of operations are as follows: Revenues (10,000 visits) $400

allocate the support departments costs , Support Department Cost Allocatio...

Support Department Cost Allocations. Riverside Furniture Company manufactures unfinished furniture for sale to retailers. Riverside has two support departments, Maintenance and Hu

What will be their allocated overhead?, Tyler's Consulting Company has purc...

Tyler's Consulting Company has purchased a new $15,000 copier. This overhead cost will be shared by the purchasing, accounting, and information technology departments since those a

Prepare a statement to show the total overheads, QUESTION 1: PART A ...

QUESTION 1: PART A Swatathon Inc. has two production departments (A and B) and two service departments (maintenance and stores). Details of next year's budgeted overheads

Write Your Message!

Captcha
Free Assignment Quote

Assured A++ Grade

Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!

All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd