Already have an account? Get multiple benefits of using own account!
Login in your account..!
Remember me
Don't have an account? Create your account in less than a minutes,
Forgot password? how can I recover my password now!
Enter right registered email to receive password!
Determine Profit in Long-Term
To demonstrate the point about profit in the long-term, let us assume that a company sells and makes a single product. There are no opening stocks of the product at the beginning of period 1, for that the variable production cost is Ksh.4 and the sales price Ksh.6 per unit. However fixed costs are Ksh.2, 000 per period, of that Ksh.1, 500 are fixed production costs,
Period
Period 2
Sales
1,200 units
1,800 units
Production
1,500 units
What would the profit be in all period utilizing the following methods of costing?
a) Absorption costing. Suppose usual output is 1,500 units per period.
b) Marginal costing.
Solution
It is significant to notice that even if sales and production volumes in each period are different and then the profit for each period via absorption costing will be different from the profit via marginal costing, over the full period, net production equals sales volume, the net cost of sales is the similar, and hence the net profit is the same via either method of accounting.
a) Absorption costing: the absorption rate for fixed production overhead is,
= £ 1,500/£1,500 units
= £ 1 per unit
Period 1
Period 3
Ksh.
7,200
10,800
Production costs
Variable
6,000
12,000
Fixed
1,500
3,000
7,500
15,000
Add opening stock b/f
-
9,000
Less closing stock c/f
Production cost of sales
6,00
(Under-)/over-absorbed overhead
Total production costs
Gross profit
1,200
1,800
Other costs
500
1,000
Net profit
700
1,300
2,000
b) Marginal Costing
Variable production cost
Variable production cost of sales
4,800
Contribution
2,400
3,600
Fixed costs
4,000
Profit
400
1,600
Hale Company makes sets of wrenches. They are trying to decide whether to continue to make the case the wrenches are sold in, or to outsource it to another company. The direct mate
After you have studied this section, you should be capable to: know the idea of funds flowing by a business in a dynamic situation understand the role of working capital
Changes in Variable Cost and Selling Price per Unit The contribution sales ratio is affected by any change in variable cost or selling price per unit. This ratio is a mea
Absorption Costing The process described in this section by that net overheads are absorbed into production naturally enough is identified as absorption costing. The absorpti
Operating Income 1. Operating Income is derived from two sources, Rental Income from businesses operating in the warehouse complex and Interest Income of the project operating
Daisy Ltd has a net profit after tax of $3 400 000 for the year ending 30 June 2012. For the entire financial year Daisy Ltd had two million $1.00 cumulative preference shares on
You have recently graduated from VU and are now working for a small accounting firm. The firm recently purchases MYOB software for internal use. Upon learning that you had learnt M
If fixed costs are $200,000 and the unit contribution margin is $20, what amount of units must be sold in order to have a zero profit?
From the information provided, determine: 1.) The amount of retained earnings at December 31 and 2.) The amount of revenues for the period. Additional data:1.)Expenses for the peri
COST CONCEPTS / CLASSIFICATION OF COSTS 1. According to functions Administration cost / office cost Selling cost Production cost / factory cost / manufacturing c
Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!
whatsapp: +91-977-207-8620
Phone: +91-977-207-8620
Email: [email protected]
All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd