Determine profit in long-term, Cost Accounting

Assignment Help:

Determine Profit in Long-Term

To demonstrate the point about profit in the long-term, let us assume that a company sells and makes a single product.  There are no opening stocks of the product at the beginning of period 1, for that the variable production cost is Ksh.4 and the sales price Ksh.6 per unit. However fixed costs are Ksh.2, 000 per period, of that Ksh.1, 500 are fixed production costs,

 

Period

Period 2

Sales

1,200 units

1,800 units

Production

1,500 units

1,500 units

What would the profit be in all period utilizing the following methods of costing?

a) Absorption costing.  Suppose usual output is 1,500 units per period.

b) Marginal costing.

Solution

It is significant to notice that even if sales and production volumes in each period are different and then the profit for each period via absorption costing will be different from the profit via marginal costing, over the full period, net production equals sales volume, the net cost of sales is the similar, and hence the net profit is the same via either method of accounting.

a) Absorption costing: the absorption rate for fixed production overhead is,

= £ 1,500/£1,500 units

= £ 1 per unit

 

Period 1

Period 2

Period 3

 

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Sales

 

7,200

 

10,800

 

 

Production costs

 

 

 

 

 

 

     Variable

6,000

 

6,000

 

12,000

 

     Fixed

1,500

 

1,500

 

 3,000

 

 

7,500

 

7,500

 

15,000

 

Add opening stock b/f

      -

 

1,500

 

        -

 

 

7,500

 

9,000

 

15,000

 

Less closing stock c/f

1,500

 

-

 

-

 

Production cost of sales

6,00

 

9,000

 

 

 

(Under-)/over-absorbed overhead

-

 

-

 

 

 

Total production costs

 

6,000

 

9,000

 

15,000

Gross profit

 

1,200

 

1,800

 

3,000

Other costs

 

  500

 

  500

 

1,000

Net profit

 

  700

 

1,300

 

2,000

b) Marginal Costing

 

Period 1

Period 2

Period 3

 

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

          Sales

 

7,200

 

10,800

 

10,800

       Variable production cost

6,000

 

6,000

 

12,000

 

        Add opening stock b/f

      -

 

1,200

 

-

 

 

6,000

 

7,200

 

12,000

 

          Less closing stock c/f

1,200

 

-

 

-

 

 Variable production cost of sales

 

4,800

 

7,200

 

12,000

         Contribution

 

2,400

 

3,600

 

6,000

          Fixed costs

 

2,000

 

2,000

 

4,000

         Profit

 

400

 

1,600

 

2,000


Related Discussions:- Determine profit in long-term

Determine the internal rate of return, AOL is considering two proposals to ...

AOL is considering two proposals to overhaul its network infrastructure. They have received two bids. The first bid, from Huawei, will require a $20 million upfront investment and

Provisions or estimated liabilities, Where the liabilities are identified b...

Where the liabilities are identified but the amounts cannot be precisely found, we estimate the liability and give for it as a liability. A common illustration is income tax payabl

Uses of cost volume profit analysis, USES O F CVP ANALYSIS 1. .It ...

USES O F CVP ANALYSIS 1. .It allows preparation of flexible budgets. 2. It provides help in forecasting accurate profit. 3. It aids in formulating price policy. 4

Calculate the break-even level of sales, Me ole cock spaniel plc. makes 3 p...

Me ole cock spaniel plc. makes 3 products, details as follows:   Apples (£)       Pears (£)         Cockneys (£)   Selling price        60               80

Prepare the journal entries to record depreciation, Moore Corporation follo...

Moore Corporation follows a policy of a 10% depreciation charge per year on all machinery and a 5% depreciation charge per year on buildings (the corporation uses the nearest full

Cost, product mix decisions with capacity constraint

product mix decisions with capacity constraint

Normal job-order costing system, A normal job-order costing system is a sys...

A normal job-order costing system is a system that uses :    A.  actual costs for direct materials and estimated costs for direct labor and overhead B.  estimated costs

Construct p&l statement , You are considering starting a walk-in-clinic.  ...

You are considering starting a walk-in-clinic.  Your financial projections for the first year of operations are as follows: Revenues (10,000 visits) $400

Accounting for materials, list and explain all the procedures of material c...

list and explain all the procedures of material control

prepare a simple balance sheet, Assume that Banc One receives a primary de...

Assume that Banc One receives a primary deposit of $1 million. The bank must keep reserves of 20 percent against its deposits. Prepare a simple balance sheet of assets and liabilit

Write Your Message!

Captcha
Free Assignment Quote

Assured A++ Grade

Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!

All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd