Determine profit in long-term, Cost Accounting

Assignment Help:

Determine Profit in Long-Term

To demonstrate the point about profit in the long-term, let us assume that a company sells and makes a single product.  There are no opening stocks of the product at the beginning of period 1, for that the variable production cost is Ksh.4 and the sales price Ksh.6 per unit. However fixed costs are Ksh.2, 000 per period, of that Ksh.1, 500 are fixed production costs,

 

Period

Period 2

Sales

1,200 units

1,800 units

Production

1,500 units

1,500 units

What would the profit be in all period utilizing the following methods of costing?

a) Absorption costing.  Suppose usual output is 1,500 units per period.

b) Marginal costing.

Solution

It is significant to notice that even if sales and production volumes in each period are different and then the profit for each period via absorption costing will be different from the profit via marginal costing, over the full period, net production equals sales volume, the net cost of sales is the similar, and hence the net profit is the same via either method of accounting.

a) Absorption costing: the absorption rate for fixed production overhead is,

= £ 1,500/£1,500 units

= £ 1 per unit

 

Period 1

Period 2

Period 3

 

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Sales

 

7,200

 

10,800

 

 

Production costs

 

 

 

 

 

 

     Variable

6,000

 

6,000

 

12,000

 

     Fixed

1,500

 

1,500

 

 3,000

 

 

7,500

 

7,500

 

15,000

 

Add opening stock b/f

      -

 

1,500

 

        -

 

 

7,500

 

9,000

 

15,000

 

Less closing stock c/f

1,500

 

-

 

-

 

Production cost of sales

6,00

 

9,000

 

 

 

(Under-)/over-absorbed overhead

-

 

-

 

 

 

Total production costs

 

6,000

 

9,000

 

15,000

Gross profit

 

1,200

 

1,800

 

3,000

Other costs

 

  500

 

  500

 

1,000

Net profit

 

  700

 

1,300

 

2,000

b) Marginal Costing

 

Period 1

Period 2

Period 3

 

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

          Sales

 

7,200

 

10,800

 

10,800

       Variable production cost

6,000

 

6,000

 

12,000

 

        Add opening stock b/f

      -

 

1,200

 

-

 

 

6,000

 

7,200

 

12,000

 

          Less closing stock c/f

1,200

 

-

 

-

 

 Variable production cost of sales

 

4,800

 

7,200

 

12,000

         Contribution

 

2,400

 

3,600

 

6,000

          Fixed costs

 

2,000

 

2,000

 

4,000

         Profit

 

400

 

1,600

 

2,000


Related Discussions:- Determine profit in long-term

Contract accounts - contract costing, Contract Accounts It is a separa...

Contract Accounts It is a separate account such is maintained and opened for every contract undertaken for the reasons of accumulating cots.  Every contract is given a number

Combined cash - bank account- cash book, The following is a summary of a ca...

The following is a summary of a cash book for the year ended 31 April 2012 Payments                                              $              Receipts

What are the variable costs, Normal 0 false false false ...

Normal 0 false false false EN-IN X-NONE X-NONE MicrosoftInternetExplorer4 Variable costs are those

Purchase cost and ordering cost, Ordering cost is incurred whenever the ...

Ordering cost is incurred whenever the inventory is replenished. It includes costs associated with the processing and chasing of the purchase order transportation, inspec

Determine the velocity impulse, Problem: A satellite is launched into Ear...

Problem: A satellite is launched into Earth orbit by a Delta II launch vehicle (LV).  The Delta LV's engines do not perform as expected, and at upper-stage burnout the satellite

Cost estimation methods, using the high low method how do i calculate the c...

using the high low method how do i calculate the costs that are expected when the output expected is out of the range given for example cost prdctn volume 110000

What is the gain or loss on the sale, a machine is purchased on july 1 2009...

a machine is purchased on july 1 2009 for $181,500. It has an expected useful life of 11 years and no salvage value. After five years, the machine is sold for $98,000 cash. What is

Features of effective cost center framework, Features of Effective Cost Cen...

Features of Effective Cost Center Framework During the establishing cost centers, an organization must consider the given points as: a) Clear definition about the cost cent

Determine profit in long-term, Determine Profit in Long-Term To demons...

Determine Profit in Long-Term To demonstrate the point about profit in the long-term, let us assume that a company sells and makes a single product.  There are no opening stoc

Group bonus plan, #question techniques of payment under group bonus plan ....

#question techniques of payment under group bonus plan .

Write Your Message!

Captcha
Free Assignment Quote

Assured A++ Grade

Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!

All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd