Determine profit in long-term, Cost Accounting

Assignment Help:

Determine Profit in Long-Term

To demonstrate the point about profit in the long-term, let us assume that a company sells and makes a single product.  There are no opening stocks of the product at the beginning of period 1, for that the variable production cost is Ksh.4 and the sales price Ksh.6 per unit. However fixed costs are Ksh.2, 000 per period, of that Ksh.1, 500 are fixed production costs,

 

Period

Period 2

Sales

1,200 units

1,800 units

Production

1,500 units

1,500 units

What would the profit be in all period utilizing the following methods of costing?

a) Absorption costing.  Suppose usual output is 1,500 units per period.

b) Marginal costing.

Solution

It is significant to notice that even if sales and production volumes in each period are different and then the profit for each period via absorption costing will be different from the profit via marginal costing, over the full period, net production equals sales volume, the net cost of sales is the similar, and hence the net profit is the same via either method of accounting.

a) Absorption costing: the absorption rate for fixed production overhead is,

= £ 1,500/£1,500 units

= £ 1 per unit

 

Period 1

Period 2

Period 3

 

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Sales

 

7,200

 

10,800

 

 

Production costs

 

 

 

 

 

 

     Variable

6,000

 

6,000

 

12,000

 

     Fixed

1,500

 

1,500

 

 3,000

 

 

7,500

 

7,500

 

15,000

 

Add opening stock b/f

      -

 

1,500

 

        -

 

 

7,500

 

9,000

 

15,000

 

Less closing stock c/f

1,500

 

-

 

-

 

Production cost of sales

6,00

 

9,000

 

 

 

(Under-)/over-absorbed overhead

-

 

-

 

 

 

Total production costs

 

6,000

 

9,000

 

15,000

Gross profit

 

1,200

 

1,800

 

3,000

Other costs

 

  500

 

  500

 

1,000

Net profit

 

  700

 

1,300

 

2,000

b) Marginal Costing

 

Period 1

Period 2

Period 3

 

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

          Sales

 

7,200

 

10,800

 

10,800

       Variable production cost

6,000

 

6,000

 

12,000

 

        Add opening stock b/f

      -

 

1,200

 

-

 

 

6,000

 

7,200

 

12,000

 

          Less closing stock c/f

1,200

 

-

 

-

 

 Variable production cost of sales

 

4,800

 

7,200

 

12,000

         Contribution

 

2,400

 

3,600

 

6,000

          Fixed costs

 

2,000

 

2,000

 

4,000

         Profit

 

400

 

1,600

 

2,000


Related Discussions:- Determine profit in long-term

Find the weighted average cost of capital, PrivateJets (PJ) is considering ...

PrivateJets (PJ) is considering expanding its operations in the corporate travel market. Currently, PJ has a capital structure with a 25% debt-equity ratio. Their levered equity

Prepare the appropriate entries for december 31, A corporation acquired a t...

A corporation acquired a truck on July 1, 2012, at a cost of $162,000. The truck has a six-year useful life and an estimated salvage value of $18,000. The straight-line method of d

What is the gain or loss on the sale, a machine is purchased on july 1 2009...

a machine is purchased on july 1 2009 for $181,500. It has an expected useful life of 11 years and no salvage value. After five years, the machine is sold for $98,000 cash. What is

Difference between expenses and expenditure, The difference among expenses ...

The difference among expenses and expenditure. Expense is the outflow from a profit oriented organization whereas expenditure is the outflow from non-profit organization.

Calculate the loss in consumer surplus, (a) Calculate the number of US impo...

(a) Calculate the number of US imports with and without the tariff. (b) Calculate the dead weight loss of the tariff. (c) Calculate the loss in consumer surplus resulting fro

Single limiting factor, Single Limiting Factor Where a single limiting...

Single Limiting Factor Where a single limiting factor exists for the decision making sequence may be implemented given as:- - Compute the contribution per unit of limiting

Direct material yield variance (myv), Direct material yield variance (MYV) ...

Direct material yield variance (MYV) :   It has been described by the ICMA, London, as 'the variation between the standard yield of the actual material input and the actual yi

Tracking direct materials, Tracking Direct Materials Jack keeps full re...

Tracking Direct Materials Jack keeps full records of the material released to each job. When Donnie gathered up light bulbs, tape, breakers, wire, and wire nuts on the morning

Expenditure for the base period and the current period, 1. The table below ...

1. The table below gives data for Southland where there are three consumption goods: bananas, coconuts and grapes. Goods Quantity in base period basket

Calculate total revenue-marginal revenue-marginal cost, In the beach city o...

In the beach city of Santa Barbara, California, there are seven bathing suit stores, each with the same schedule of costs and each facing an identical demand curve. Swim N Style is

Write Your Message!

Captcha
Free Assignment Quote

Assured A++ Grade

Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!

All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd