Determine profit in long-term, Cost Accounting

Assignment Help:

Determine Profit in Long-Term

To demonstrate the point about profit in the long-term, let us assume that a company sells and makes a single product.  There are no opening stocks of the product at the beginning of period 1, for that the variable production cost is Ksh.4 and the sales price Ksh.6 per unit. However fixed costs are Ksh.2, 000 per period, of that Ksh.1, 500 are fixed production costs,

 

Period

Period 2

Sales

1,200 units

1,800 units

Production

1,500 units

1,500 units

What would the profit be in all period utilizing the following methods of costing?

a) Absorption costing.  Suppose usual output is 1,500 units per period.

b) Marginal costing.

Solution

It is significant to notice that even if sales and production volumes in each period are different and then the profit for each period via absorption costing will be different from the profit via marginal costing, over the full period, net production equals sales volume, the net cost of sales is the similar, and hence the net profit is the same via either method of accounting.

a) Absorption costing: the absorption rate for fixed production overhead is,

= £ 1,500/£1,500 units

= £ 1 per unit

 

Period 1

Period 2

Period 3

 

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Sales

 

7,200

 

10,800

 

 

Production costs

 

 

 

 

 

 

     Variable

6,000

 

6,000

 

12,000

 

     Fixed

1,500

 

1,500

 

 3,000

 

 

7,500

 

7,500

 

15,000

 

Add opening stock b/f

      -

 

1,500

 

        -

 

 

7,500

 

9,000

 

15,000

 

Less closing stock c/f

1,500

 

-

 

-

 

Production cost of sales

6,00

 

9,000

 

 

 

(Under-)/over-absorbed overhead

-

 

-

 

 

 

Total production costs

 

6,000

 

9,000

 

15,000

Gross profit

 

1,200

 

1,800

 

3,000

Other costs

 

  500

 

  500

 

1,000

Net profit

 

  700

 

1,300

 

2,000

b) Marginal Costing

 

Period 1

Period 2

Period 3

 

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

          Sales

 

7,200

 

10,800

 

10,800

       Variable production cost

6,000

 

6,000

 

12,000

 

        Add opening stock b/f

      -

 

1,200

 

-

 

 

6,000

 

7,200

 

12,000

 

          Less closing stock c/f

1,200

 

-

 

-

 

 Variable production cost of sales

 

4,800

 

7,200

 

12,000

         Contribution

 

2,400

 

3,600

 

6,000

          Fixed costs

 

2,000

 

2,000

 

4,000

         Profit

 

400

 

1,600

 

2,000


Related Discussions:- Determine profit in long-term

Irrelevant cost., what is irrelevant cost and give example

what is irrelevant cost and give example

Determine the total cost and product costing method, Question Hornsby M...

Question Hornsby Manufacturing has four categories of overheads. The four categories and the expected overhead costs for each category for next year are as follows:

Gain on the sale of the discontinued operation, NSC Ltd. has a 31 May fisca...

NSC Ltd. has a 31 May fiscal year-end. NSC disposed of its Information Systems Group (ISG) on 31 January 20X3. ISG had a net loss (after taxes) of $37,700,000 in 20X3, to the date

Cost classification, #question.discuss the importance of cost classificatio...

#question.discuss the importance of cost classification to a business organisation?

Calculate the reduction in failure costs per unit, Each unit of a product r...

Each unit of a product requires four components. The average number of components is 4.25 due to component failure. Purchasing higher quality components can reduce the average numb

Sales revenue variance (srv), SALES REVENUE VARIANCE (SRV) The word 'Sa...

SALES REVENUE VARIANCE (SRV) The word 'Sales Variance' is indicated by the expression 'operating profit variance due to sales' by ICMA.  It is described as 'the difference betw

Co-ownership incentive scheme or profit sharing schemes, Co-ownership incen...

Co-ownership incentive scheme or Profit Sharing Schemes The organization permits for ownership whereby the employees are permitted to own a percentage of the shares in the fir

Calculate the payout ratio, The following information is available for Whit...

The following information is available for Whitlock Corporation in millions average common stockholders equity 2014-$2,532 2013-$2,591 dividends declared for common stockholders 20

Costing term, The San Carlos Company is an electronics business with eight ...

The San Carlos Company is an electronics business with eight product lines. Income data for one of the products (XT-107) for June 2011 are as follows: Revenues, 200,000 units at av

Write Your Message!

Captcha
Free Assignment Quote

Assured A++ Grade

Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!

All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd