Determine profit in long-term, Cost Accounting

Assignment Help:

Determine Profit in Long-Term

To demonstrate the point about profit in the long-term, let us assume that a company sells and makes a single product.  There are no opening stocks of the product at the beginning of period 1, for that the variable production cost is Ksh.4 and the sales price Ksh.6 per unit. However fixed costs are Ksh.2, 000 per period, of that Ksh.1, 500 are fixed production costs,

 

Period

Period 2

Sales

1,200 units

1,800 units

Production

1,500 units

1,500 units

What would the profit be in all period utilizing the following methods of costing?

a) Absorption costing.  Suppose usual output is 1,500 units per period.

b) Marginal costing.

Solution

It is significant to notice that even if sales and production volumes in each period are different and then the profit for each period via absorption costing will be different from the profit via marginal costing, over the full period, net production equals sales volume, the net cost of sales is the similar, and hence the net profit is the same via either method of accounting.

a) Absorption costing: the absorption rate for fixed production overhead is,

= £ 1,500/£1,500 units

= £ 1 per unit

 

Period 1

Period 2

Period 3

 

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Sales

 

7,200

 

10,800

 

 

Production costs

 

 

 

 

 

 

     Variable

6,000

 

6,000

 

12,000

 

     Fixed

1,500

 

1,500

 

 3,000

 

 

7,500

 

7,500

 

15,000

 

Add opening stock b/f

      -

 

1,500

 

        -

 

 

7,500

 

9,000

 

15,000

 

Less closing stock c/f

1,500

 

-

 

-

 

Production cost of sales

6,00

 

9,000

 

 

 

(Under-)/over-absorbed overhead

-

 

-

 

 

 

Total production costs

 

6,000

 

9,000

 

15,000

Gross profit

 

1,200

 

1,800

 

3,000

Other costs

 

  500

 

  500

 

1,000

Net profit

 

  700

 

1,300

 

2,000

b) Marginal Costing

 

Period 1

Period 2

Period 3

 

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

          Sales

 

7,200

 

10,800

 

10,800

       Variable production cost

6,000

 

6,000

 

12,000

 

        Add opening stock b/f

      -

 

1,200

 

-

 

 

6,000

 

7,200

 

12,000

 

          Less closing stock c/f

1,200

 

-

 

-

 

 Variable production cost of sales

 

4,800

 

7,200

 

12,000

         Contribution

 

2,400

 

3,600

 

6,000

          Fixed costs

 

2,000

 

2,000

 

4,000

         Profit

 

400

 

1,600

 

2,000


Related Discussions:- Determine profit in long-term

Assumptions of break even analysis, ASSUMPTIONS OF BREAK EVEN ANALYSIS ...

ASSUMPTIONS OF BREAK EVEN ANALYSIS 1. Fixed costs for all time remain constant. 2. All costs are divided into fixed and variable costs. 3. Selling price will not alter de

Calculate the capital account balance, You are given the following informat...

You are given the following information about a sole trader as at 1 January 2012: The value of assets and liabilities were: Non-current assets at net book value £16,800

Stores layout and location - material handling, Stores layout and location ...

Stores layout and location - Material Handling The layout of stores must ensure as a) For movement of material, ease of access out and in of stores b) The issue of peris

Principles of marginal costing, Principles of Marginal Costing The pri...

Principles of Marginal Costing The principles of marginal costing are as given: 1. Period fixed costs are similar, for any volume of sales and production provided suc

Estimating, how do you calculate estimating cost for the last of the year b...

how do you calculate estimating cost for the last of the year based on activity during the first half of the year

Organization of budgetary control, Organization of Budgetary Control B...

Organization of Budgetary Control Budgetary control ideally includes the given steps as: 1. The creation of budget centres. 2. The introduction of sufficient

Conceptual Frame work, What are the dependent and independent variables in ...

What are the dependent and independent variables in Cost Accounting??

What are total fixed cost, Corporation has determined the contribution marg...

Corporation has determined the contribution margin ratio is 35% and the income tax rate is 40%. Required: A) Assume break-even volume in dollars is $1,500,000. What are total fixed

Presentation & Essay, Why are the main contribution teams can make to an or...

Why are the main contribution teams can make to an organisation? What are the conditions necessary in organisations if people are to work effectively in teams? * Describe what tea

Marginal & Absorption, Ask quCalculate the standard production cost per uni...

Ask quCalculate the standard production cost per unit and standard profit per unit using Absorption costing principles. ii. Prepare a profit statement for January and February (se

Write Your Message!

Captcha
Free Assignment Quote

Assured A++ Grade

Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!

All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd