Already have an account? Get multiple benefits of using own account!
Login in your account..!
Remember me
Don't have an account? Create your account in less than a minutes,
Forgot password? how can I recover my password now!
Enter right registered email to receive password!
Determine Profit in Long-Term
To demonstrate the point about profit in the long-term, let us assume that a company sells and makes a single product. There are no opening stocks of the product at the beginning of period 1, for that the variable production cost is Ksh.4 and the sales price Ksh.6 per unit. However fixed costs are Ksh.2, 000 per period, of that Ksh.1, 500 are fixed production costs,
Period
Period 2
Sales
1,200 units
1,800 units
Production
1,500 units
What would the profit be in all period utilizing the following methods of costing?
a) Absorption costing. Suppose usual output is 1,500 units per period.
b) Marginal costing.
Solution
It is significant to notice that even if sales and production volumes in each period are different and then the profit for each period via absorption costing will be different from the profit via marginal costing, over the full period, net production equals sales volume, the net cost of sales is the similar, and hence the net profit is the same via either method of accounting.
a) Absorption costing: the absorption rate for fixed production overhead is,
= £ 1,500/£1,500 units
= £ 1 per unit
Period 1
Period 3
Ksh.
7,200
10,800
Production costs
Variable
6,000
12,000
Fixed
1,500
3,000
7,500
15,000
Add opening stock b/f
-
9,000
Less closing stock c/f
Production cost of sales
6,00
(Under-)/over-absorbed overhead
Total production costs
Gross profit
1,200
1,800
Other costs
500
1,000
Net profit
700
1,300
2,000
b) Marginal Costing
Variable production cost
Variable production cost of sales
4,800
Contribution
2,400
3,600
Fixed costs
4,000
Profit
400
1,600
William Potter is a plumber currently operating as a Sole Trader in Levin. William has approached you, a tax accountant, for your advice on certain tax matters. William's brothe
The project (using the tools and techniques given in Chapters 3, 8, 10, 11, and 12 of the textbook) and its subsequent report are based on the complete economic analysis of a compa
Nieland Industries had one patent recorded on its books as of January 1, 2014. This patent had a book value of $288,000 and a remaining useful life of 8 years. During 2014, Nieland
labour cost related case study with solution
Pyramid Printing Company is a printer of magazines and retail inserts. In addition, there are two joint products (food wrapping and book covers) and one byproduct (shipping-box ins
Link between Financial and Cost Books The link among the two sets of books is achieved via operating a cost ledger control account and a financial ledger control account. Cos
AOL is considering two proposals to overhaul its network infrastructure. They have received two bids. The first bid, from Huawei, will require a $20 million upfront investment and
Example of Over and under absorption of production overhead costs By employing data from diagram assume such the production overhead absorption rate was computed where an acti
Determine the Joint Cost A company produces three products, Y1, Y2, and Y3 in the similar process. The data below reflects average monthly results as:
i want to understand everything about contract account
Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!
whatsapp: +91-977-207-8620
Phone: +91-977-207-8620
Email: [email protected]
All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd