Determine profit in long-term, Cost Accounting

Assignment Help:

Determine Profit in Long-Term

To demonstrate the point about profit in the long-term, let us assume that a company sells and makes a single product.  There are no opening stocks of the product at the beginning of period 1, for that the variable production cost is Ksh.4 and the sales price Ksh.6 per unit. However fixed costs are Ksh.2, 000 per period, of that Ksh.1, 500 are fixed production costs,

 

Period

Period 2

Sales

1,200 units

1,800 units

Production

1,500 units

1,500 units

What would the profit be in all period utilizing the following methods of costing?

a) Absorption costing.  Suppose usual output is 1,500 units per period.

b) Marginal costing.

Solution

It is significant to notice that even if sales and production volumes in each period are different and then the profit for each period via absorption costing will be different from the profit via marginal costing, over the full period, net production equals sales volume, the net cost of sales is the similar, and hence the net profit is the same via either method of accounting.

a) Absorption costing: the absorption rate for fixed production overhead is,

= £ 1,500/£1,500 units

= £ 1 per unit

 

Period 1

Period 2

Period 3

 

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Sales

 

7,200

 

10,800

 

 

Production costs

 

 

 

 

 

 

     Variable

6,000

 

6,000

 

12,000

 

     Fixed

1,500

 

1,500

 

 3,000

 

 

7,500

 

7,500

 

15,000

 

Add opening stock b/f

      -

 

1,500

 

        -

 

 

7,500

 

9,000

 

15,000

 

Less closing stock c/f

1,500

 

-

 

-

 

Production cost of sales

6,00

 

9,000

 

 

 

(Under-)/over-absorbed overhead

-

 

-

 

 

 

Total production costs

 

6,000

 

9,000

 

15,000

Gross profit

 

1,200

 

1,800

 

3,000

Other costs

 

  500

 

  500

 

1,000

Net profit

 

  700

 

1,300

 

2,000

b) Marginal Costing

 

Period 1

Period 2

Period 3

 

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

          Sales

 

7,200

 

10,800

 

10,800

       Variable production cost

6,000

 

6,000

 

12,000

 

        Add opening stock b/f

      -

 

1,200

 

-

 

 

6,000

 

7,200

 

12,000

 

          Less closing stock c/f

1,200

 

-

 

-

 

 Variable production cost of sales

 

4,800

 

7,200

 

12,000

         Contribution

 

2,400

 

3,600

 

6,000

          Fixed costs

 

2,000

 

2,000

 

4,000

         Profit

 

400

 

1,600

 

2,000


Related Discussions:- Determine profit in long-term

How much will alan save or lose, Hale Company makes sets of wrenches. They ...

Hale Company makes sets of wrenches. They are trying to decide whether to continue to make the case the wrenches are sold in, or to outsource it to another company. The direct mate

Analysis of fund flow and cash flow statements, After you have studied this...

After you have studied this section, you should be capable to: know the idea of funds flowing by a business in a dynamic situation understand the role of working capital

Changes in variable cost and selling price per unit, Changes in Variable Co...

Changes in Variable Cost and Selling Price per Unit The contribution sales ratio is affected by any change in variable cost or selling price per unit. This ratio is a mea

Absorption costing, Absorption Costing The process described in this s...

Absorption Costing The process described in this section by that net overheads are absorbed into production naturally enough is identified as absorption costing.  The absorpti

Gross rental revenue, Operating Income 1. Operating Income is derived f...

Operating Income 1. Operating Income is derived from two sources, Rental Income from businesses operating in the warehouse complex and Interest Income of the project operating

Earnings per share, Daisy Ltd has a net profit after tax of $3 400 000 for ...

Daisy Ltd has a net profit after tax of $3 400 000 for the year ending 30 June 2012.  For the entire financial year Daisy Ltd had two million $1.00 cumulative preference shares on

Cash flows statement , You have recently graduated from VU and are now work...

You have recently graduated from VU and are now working for a small accounting firm. The firm recently purchases MYOB software for internal use. Upon learning that you had learnt M

What amount of units, If fixed costs are $200,000 and the unit contribution...

If fixed costs are $200,000 and the unit contribution margin is $20, what amount of units must be sold in order to have a zero profit?

Find the amount of retained earnings at december, From the information prov...

From the information provided, determine: 1.) The amount of retained earnings at December 31 and 2.) The amount of revenues for the period. Additional data:1.)Expenses for the peri

Cost concepts / classification of costs, COST CONCEPTS / CLASSIFICATION OF ...

COST CONCEPTS / CLASSIFICATION OF COSTS 1. According to functions Administration cost / office cost Selling cost Production cost / factory cost / manufacturing c

Write Your Message!

Captcha
Free Assignment Quote

Assured A++ Grade

Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!

All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd