Determine profit in long-term, Cost Accounting

Assignment Help:

Determine Profit in Long-Term

To demonstrate the point about profit in the long-term, let us assume that a company sells and makes a single product.  There are no opening stocks of the product at the beginning of period 1, for that the variable production cost is Ksh.4 and the sales price Ksh.6 per unit. However fixed costs are Ksh.2, 000 per period, of that Ksh.1, 500 are fixed production costs,

 

Period

Period 2

Sales

1,200 units

1,800 units

Production

1,500 units

1,500 units

What would the profit be in all period utilizing the following methods of costing?

a) Absorption costing.  Suppose usual output is 1,500 units per period.

b) Marginal costing.

Solution

It is significant to notice that even if sales and production volumes in each period are different and then the profit for each period via absorption costing will be different from the profit via marginal costing, over the full period, net production equals sales volume, the net cost of sales is the similar, and hence the net profit is the same via either method of accounting.

a) Absorption costing: the absorption rate for fixed production overhead is,

= £ 1,500/£1,500 units

= £ 1 per unit

 

Period 1

Period 2

Period 3

 

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Sales

 

7,200

 

10,800

 

 

Production costs

 

 

 

 

 

 

     Variable

6,000

 

6,000

 

12,000

 

     Fixed

1,500

 

1,500

 

 3,000

 

 

7,500

 

7,500

 

15,000

 

Add opening stock b/f

      -

 

1,500

 

        -

 

 

7,500

 

9,000

 

15,000

 

Less closing stock c/f

1,500

 

-

 

-

 

Production cost of sales

6,00

 

9,000

 

 

 

(Under-)/over-absorbed overhead

-

 

-

 

 

 

Total production costs

 

6,000

 

9,000

 

15,000

Gross profit

 

1,200

 

1,800

 

3,000

Other costs

 

  500

 

  500

 

1,000

Net profit

 

  700

 

1,300

 

2,000

b) Marginal Costing

 

Period 1

Period 2

Period 3

 

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

          Sales

 

7,200

 

10,800

 

10,800

       Variable production cost

6,000

 

6,000

 

12,000

 

        Add opening stock b/f

      -

 

1,200

 

-

 

 

6,000

 

7,200

 

12,000

 

          Less closing stock c/f

1,200

 

-

 

-

 

 Variable production cost of sales

 

4,800

 

7,200

 

12,000

         Contribution

 

2,400

 

3,600

 

6,000

          Fixed costs

 

2,000

 

2,000

 

4,000

         Profit

 

400

 

1,600

 

2,000


Related Discussions:- Determine profit in long-term

Goods and services tax, William Potter is a plumber currently operating as ...

William Potter is a plumber currently operating as a Sole Trader in Levin. William has approached you, a tax accountant, for your advice on certain tax matters. William's brothe

Evaluate the cost structure, The project (using the tools and techniques gi...

The project (using the tools and techniques given in Chapters 3, 8, 10, 11, and 12 of the textbook) and its subsequent report are based on the complete economic analysis of a compa

Balance sheet and assuming monthly amortization of patents, Nieland Industr...

Nieland Industries had one patent recorded on its books as of January 1, 2014. This patent had a book value of $288,000 and a remaining useful life of 8 years. During 2014, Nieland

Labour cost, labour cost related case study with solution

labour cost related case study with solution

Assignment Choice #2: Accounting for Byproducts (Quantitativ, Pyramid Print...

Pyramid Printing Company is a printer of magazines and retail inserts. In addition, there are two joint products (food wrapping and book covers) and one byproduct (shipping-box ins

Link between financial and cost books, Link between Financial and Cost Book...

Link between Financial and Cost Books The link among the two sets of books is achieved via operating a cost ledger control account and a financial ledger control account.  Cos

Determine the internal rate of return, AOL is considering two proposals to ...

AOL is considering two proposals to overhaul its network infrastructure. They have received two bids. The first bid, from Huawei, will require a $20 million upfront investment and

Example of over and under absorption of production overhead, Example of Ove...

Example of Over and under absorption of production overhead costs By employing data from diagram assume such the production overhead absorption rate was computed where an acti

Determine the joint cost, Determine the Joint Cost A company produces ...

Determine the Joint Cost A company produces three products, Y1, Y2, and Y3 in the similar process.  The data below reflects average monthly results as:

Contract account, i want to understand everything about contract account

i want to understand everything about contract account

Write Your Message!

Captcha
Free Assignment Quote

Assured A++ Grade

Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!

All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd