Already have an account? Get multiple benefits of using own account!
Login in your account..!
Remember me
Don't have an account? Create your account in less than a minutes,
Forgot password? how can I recover my password now!
Enter right registered email to receive password!
Determine Profit in Long-Term
To demonstrate the point about profit in the long-term, let us assume that a company sells and makes a single product. There are no opening stocks of the product at the beginning of period 1, for that the variable production cost is Ksh.4 and the sales price Ksh.6 per unit. However fixed costs are Ksh.2, 000 per period, of that Ksh.1, 500 are fixed production costs,
Period
Period 2
Sales
1,200 units
1,800 units
Production
1,500 units
What would the profit be in all period utilizing the following methods of costing?
a) Absorption costing. Suppose usual output is 1,500 units per period.
b) Marginal costing.
Solution
It is significant to notice that even if sales and production volumes in each period are different and then the profit for each period via absorption costing will be different from the profit via marginal costing, over the full period, net production equals sales volume, the net cost of sales is the similar, and hence the net profit is the same via either method of accounting.
a) Absorption costing: the absorption rate for fixed production overhead is,
= £ 1,500/£1,500 units
= £ 1 per unit
Period 1
Period 3
Ksh.
7,200
10,800
Production costs
Variable
6,000
12,000
Fixed
1,500
3,000
7,500
15,000
Add opening stock b/f
-
9,000
Less closing stock c/f
Production cost of sales
6,00
(Under-)/over-absorbed overhead
Total production costs
Gross profit
1,200
1,800
Other costs
500
1,000
Net profit
700
1,300
2,000
b) Marginal Costing
Variable production cost
Variable production cost of sales
4,800
Contribution
2,400
3,600
Fixed costs
4,000
Profit
400
1,600
what is irrelevant cost and give example
Question Hornsby Manufacturing has four categories of overheads. The four categories and the expected overhead costs for each category for next year are as follows:
NSC Ltd. has a 31 May fiscal year-end. NSC disposed of its Information Systems Group (ISG) on 31 January 20X3. ISG had a net loss (after taxes) of $37,700,000 in 20X3, to the date
explain the different methods of costing
#question.discuss the importance of cost classification to a business organisation?
Each unit of a product requires four components. The average number of components is 4.25 due to component failure. Purchasing higher quality components can reduce the average numb
SALES REVENUE VARIANCE (SRV) The word 'Sales Variance' is indicated by the expression 'operating profit variance due to sales' by ICMA. It is described as 'the difference betw
Co-ownership incentive scheme or Profit Sharing Schemes The organization permits for ownership whereby the employees are permitted to own a percentage of the shares in the fir
The following information is available for Whitlock Corporation in millions average common stockholders equity 2014-$2,532 2013-$2,591 dividends declared for common stockholders 20
The San Carlos Company is an electronics business with eight product lines. Income data for one of the products (XT-107) for June 2011 are as follows: Revenues, 200,000 units at av
Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!
whatsapp: +91-977-207-8620
Phone: +91-977-207-8620
Email: [email protected]
All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd