Determine profit in long-term, Cost Accounting

Assignment Help:

Determine Profit in Long-Term

To demonstrate the point about profit in the long-term, let us assume that a company sells and makes a single product.  There are no opening stocks of the product at the beginning of period 1, for that the variable production cost is Ksh.4 and the sales price Ksh.6 per unit. However fixed costs are Ksh.2, 000 per period, of that Ksh.1, 500 are fixed production costs,

 

Period

Period 2

Sales

1,200 units

1,800 units

Production

1,500 units

1,500 units

What would the profit be in all period utilizing the following methods of costing?

a) Absorption costing.  Suppose usual output is 1,500 units per period.

b) Marginal costing.

Solution

It is significant to notice that even if sales and production volumes in each period are different and then the profit for each period via absorption costing will be different from the profit via marginal costing, over the full period, net production equals sales volume, the net cost of sales is the similar, and hence the net profit is the same via either method of accounting.

a) Absorption costing: the absorption rate for fixed production overhead is,

= £ 1,500/£1,500 units

= £ 1 per unit

 

Period 1

Period 2

Period 3

 

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Sales

 

7,200

 

10,800

 

 

Production costs

 

 

 

 

 

 

     Variable

6,000

 

6,000

 

12,000

 

     Fixed

1,500

 

1,500

 

 3,000

 

 

7,500

 

7,500

 

15,000

 

Add opening stock b/f

      -

 

1,500

 

        -

 

 

7,500

 

9,000

 

15,000

 

Less closing stock c/f

1,500

 

-

 

-

 

Production cost of sales

6,00

 

9,000

 

 

 

(Under-)/over-absorbed overhead

-

 

-

 

 

 

Total production costs

 

6,000

 

9,000

 

15,000

Gross profit

 

1,200

 

1,800

 

3,000

Other costs

 

  500

 

  500

 

1,000

Net profit

 

  700

 

1,300

 

2,000

b) Marginal Costing

 

Period 1

Period 2

Period 3

 

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

          Sales

 

7,200

 

10,800

 

10,800

       Variable production cost

6,000

 

6,000

 

12,000

 

        Add opening stock b/f

      -

 

1,200

 

-

 

 

6,000

 

7,200

 

12,000

 

          Less closing stock c/f

1,200

 

-

 

-

 

 Variable production cost of sales

 

4,800

 

7,200

 

12,000

         Contribution

 

2,400

 

3,600

 

6,000

          Fixed costs

 

2,000

 

2,000

 

4,000

         Profit

 

400

 

1,600

 

2,000


Related Discussions:- Determine profit in long-term

Over And Under Absorption of Production Overhead Costs, Over And Under Abso...

Over And Under Absorption of Production Overhead Costs This may be analyzed beneath a) Activity This is level of the business or cost center. Expenditure on several item

Which of the four types of costs would include ceo''s salary, Which of the ...

Which of the four types of costs would include a CEO's salary? A. Unit-Level B. Batch-Level C. Product Sustaining D. Facility Sustaining

Accounting, 1. Develop a list of tasks that a newly appointed CFO would be ...

1. Develop a list of tasks that a newly appointed CFO would be responsible for, including relevant reports they will access and review and the schedule for when this would occur.

Explain stock valuation, G. Mills was appointed a local agent for the High ...

G. Mills was appointed a local agent for the High Power Mobile Workshop Bolt (HPMW-B) on 1 April 2009. The HPMW-B is manufactured by Mobile Equipment Ltd (MEL). The company charges

Cost behavior, maintenance costs at a hospital

maintenance costs at a hospital

Marginal costing, The profit volume ratio of xltd. is 50% and the margin of...

The profit volume ratio of xltd. is 50% and the margin of safety is 40%.you are required to calculate the net profit if sales volume is rs.100,000?

Find the statement of cash flows, 1. A fellow student says to you: "The sta...

1. A fellow student says to you: "The statement of cash flows is the easiest of the basic financial statements to prepare because you know the answer before you start. You compa

Determine the estimated operating cost - high low method, 10) Mike Taylor, ...

10) Mike Taylor, the owner of Tennessee River Boat Rentals, is estimating the cost of operating his boat rental company next year. He expects to have 450 rentals during 200Z. The f

Write Your Message!

Captcha
Free Assignment Quote

Assured A++ Grade

Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!

All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd