Determine profit in long-term, Cost Accounting

Assignment Help:

Determine Profit in Long-Term

To demonstrate the point about profit in the long-term, let us assume that a company sells and makes a single product.  There are no opening stocks of the product at the beginning of period 1, for that the variable production cost is Ksh.4 and the sales price Ksh.6 per unit. However fixed costs are Ksh.2, 000 per period, of that Ksh.1, 500 are fixed production costs,

 

Period

Period 2

Sales

1,200 units

1,800 units

Production

1,500 units

1,500 units

What would the profit be in all period utilizing the following methods of costing?

a) Absorption costing.  Suppose usual output is 1,500 units per period.

b) Marginal costing.

Solution

It is significant to notice that even if sales and production volumes in each period are different and then the profit for each period via absorption costing will be different from the profit via marginal costing, over the full period, net production equals sales volume, the net cost of sales is the similar, and hence the net profit is the same via either method of accounting.

a) Absorption costing: the absorption rate for fixed production overhead is,

= £ 1,500/£1,500 units

= £ 1 per unit

 

Period 1

Period 2

Period 3

 

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Sales

 

7,200

 

10,800

 

 

Production costs

 

 

 

 

 

 

     Variable

6,000

 

6,000

 

12,000

 

     Fixed

1,500

 

1,500

 

 3,000

 

 

7,500

 

7,500

 

15,000

 

Add opening stock b/f

      -

 

1,500

 

        -

 

 

7,500

 

9,000

 

15,000

 

Less closing stock c/f

1,500

 

-

 

-

 

Production cost of sales

6,00

 

9,000

 

 

 

(Under-)/over-absorbed overhead

-

 

-

 

 

 

Total production costs

 

6,000

 

9,000

 

15,000

Gross profit

 

1,200

 

1,800

 

3,000

Other costs

 

  500

 

  500

 

1,000

Net profit

 

  700

 

1,300

 

2,000

b) Marginal Costing

 

Period 1

Period 2

Period 3

 

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

Ksh.

          Sales

 

7,200

 

10,800

 

10,800

       Variable production cost

6,000

 

6,000

 

12,000

 

        Add opening stock b/f

      -

 

1,200

 

-

 

 

6,000

 

7,200

 

12,000

 

          Less closing stock c/f

1,200

 

-

 

-

 

 Variable production cost of sales

 

4,800

 

7,200

 

12,000

         Contribution

 

2,400

 

3,600

 

6,000

          Fixed costs

 

2,000

 

2,000

 

4,000

         Profit

 

400

 

1,600

 

2,000


Related Discussions:- Determine profit in long-term

Jobwork, elements for jobwork COST SHEET

elements for jobwork COST SHEET

Cost component, Identify the individual cost components and the total cost ...

Identify the individual cost components and the total cost of delivering the product from supplier to retailer.   Identify each cost in terms of the incremental addition to the pro

Accounts payable, Accounts Payable or sundry creditors are generally unsecu...

Accounts Payable or sundry creditors are generally unsecured debts owed through the firm. These are also considered to as payables on open accounts. They may not be evidenced throu

Marginal costing, Please kindly post some problems along with solutions so...

Please kindly post some problems along with solutions so it is easy to understand..I am quite satisfied by the per-forma you have mentioned.. THANK YOU.

Prepare the journal entries to record depreciation, Moore Corporation follo...

Moore Corporation follows a policy of a 10% depreciation charge per year on all machinery and a 5% depreciation charge per year on buildings (the corporation uses the nearest full

Explain development cost, With the introduction of computer-generated anima...

With the introduction of computer-generated animated films (CGI), there has been much discussion of the impact on the movie industry. For example, illustrators need to have differe

Time keeping - cost accumulation, Time Keeping - Cost Accumulation A l...

Time Keeping - Cost Accumulation A labour cost control routine should ensure that payments are paid only to employees who have spent time at the work place and that payments a

Calculate the allocations and totals, A company wishes to devise a fair mea...

A company wishes to devise a fair means of allocating funds to its four main departments, namely Accounts, Production, Sales and Transport. The total allocation is to be £100,000.

What is amount that lifo liquidation added to gross margin, Q. Given the be...

Q. Given the below information, what is the dollar amount that the LIFO liquidation added to gross margin?   Number of Units Price per Unit

Write Your Message!

Captcha
Free Assignment Quote

Assured A++ Grade

Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!

All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd