Optimum cash balance - baumols model, Managerial Accounting

Assignment Help:

The Baumol Model in 1952 considers cash management complication as same to inventory management problem. For itself the firm attempts to minimize the total cost that is the sum of cost of holding cash and the transaction cost or cost of converting marketable securities to cash. The Baumol model is depends on the subsequent assumptions as:

  • The firm is capable to forecast its cash require with certainty,
  • The opportunity cost of holding cash is identified and it does not modify over time, and
  • The transaction cost is not change.

Let us suppose that the firm sells securities and begins with a cash balance of C rupees. Over a period of time this cash balance reduces steadily and attains zero. At that point the firm replenishes its cash balance to C rupees through selling marketable securities. Such pattern continues over an era of time. Because the cash balance decreases steadily thus the average cash balance is C/2. Such type of pattern is demonstrated in figure 3.

Cash Balance

245_Optimum Cash Balance - Baumols Model.png

Figure: Pattern of Cash Balance: Baumol's Model

The firm incurs a holding cost for keeping cash balance. This is an opportunity cost that is the return foregone on market-able securities. The firm's holding cost for maintaining an average cash balance is as given below, whether the opportunity cost is I:

Holding Cost = I (C/2).

The firm incurs a transaction cost when this converts its marketable securities to cash. Total number of transactions throughout the year would be the total fund need T divided via the cash balance C that is T/C. Because per transaction cost is assumed to be constant and whether per transaction cost is B the net transaction cost would be as B (T/C).

The total cost may be appears as: TC = I (C/2) + B (T/C)

= Holding cost + Transaction cost

 Here

 C =   Amount of marketable securities converted into cash per cycle

I    = Interest rate earned on marketable securities

T   = Projected cash requirement during the period

TC = Total cost or sum of conversion and holding costs.

The value of C that minimizes TC may be determined from the subsequent equation:

C* =√(2bt/I)

 The above equation is derived as given below:

Determine the first derivative of total cost function regarding C.

dTC/dC = ((I/2) - (bT/c2))

Setting the first derivative equivalent to zero, we acquire

((T/2) - (bT/ c2)) = 0

Solving for C as

C* =√(2bt/I)

One can confirm for second derivative condition ensuring that C* to be minimized.


Related Discussions:- Optimum cash balance - baumols model

Types of cost classifications, can you better explain to me the classificat...

can you better explain to me the classification by traceability and the classification by function?

Motives for conducting cash balances, In this section we have discussed the...

In this section we have discussed the motives for conducting cash balances. In addition, we have discussed cash deficit or surplus situation and how it can be contained by the use

Assgnment, 1. Calculate the manufacturing costs for the year. 2. Prepare a ...

1. Calculate the manufacturing costs for the year. 2. Prepare a statement of cost of goods manufactured. 3. Prepare an income statement (assume an income tax 25%)

Impact of Cost Structure., You are required to provide a report of approx 5...

You are required to provide a report of approx 500 words or less (excluding attachments and references), accompanied by relevant calculations, in MS Word, MS Excel and/or PDF forma

Illustration of marginal profit, Illustration of Marginal profit To ill...

Illustration of Marginal profit To illustrate the computations, suppose that the marginal profit or XE in our model is changed from 3 to 3 + δ1, where δ represents either posit

Jit purchasing arrangements-jit benefits, JIT purchasing arrangements J...

JIT purchasing arrangements JIT philosophy also extends to adapting JIT purchasing techniques whereby delivery of material immediately precedes their use. By arranging with sup

Annual expected total relevant cost, A purchased product, sold in a retail ...

A purchased product, sold in a retail store, has a normally distributed daily demand, with a mean of 8 units/day and a variance of 4 (units) 2 . Its supply lead time is 6 days and

Multi-collinearity, Multi-collinearity Multiple regression analysis is ...

Multi-collinearity Multiple regression analysis is based on the assumption that the independent variables are not correlated with each other, whenever the independent variables

Industrial Grinders, accepted#Regarding the Overhead costs, these are alloc...

accepted#Regarding the Overhead costs, these are allocated based on Direct Labor;

Write Your Message!

Captcha
Free Assignment Quote

Assured A++ Grade

Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!

All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd