Example of profit volume graph, Cost Accounting

Assignment Help:

Example of Profit Volume Graph

The summary results of a company are given as:

Product                       

A

B         

C

Total

 

Shs.000

Shs.000

Shs.000

Shs.000

Sales revenue  

300

200

100

600

Variable costs

150

120

  70

340

Contribution

 

 

 

260

Fixed costs     

 

 

 

100

Net profit

 

 

 

160

Contribution sales ratio

0.5

0.4

0.3

0.433

Required

1. Prepare a profit volume graph that shows the overall consequences.

2. Prepare an amended profit curve whereas the market forces have led to a switch of Shs. 200,000 of sales from product A to product C

3. Prepare a summary that shows the value of each of the following for both the amended results and the original results

a) Net profit

b) Break-even point

c) Margin of safety

d) Overall contribution sales ratio

Solution

 

2162_Example of Profit Volume Graph.png

The shown profit volume graph displays the existing and amended cost curves.The amended data that implements the switch of Shs. 200,000 of sales to product C from product A may be summarized as:

Product

A

B

C

Total

 

Shs.000

Shs.000

Shs.000

Shs.000

Sales revenue  

100     

200

300

600

Variable costs

  50

120

210

380

Contribution

  50

  80

  90

220

Fixed costs

 

 

 

100

Net profit       

 

 

 

120

Contribution sales ration

    0.50

    0.40

    0.30

     0.367

 


Related Discussions:- Example of profit volume graph

Job-order costing system.., Compute the predetermined overhead rate used du...

Compute the predetermined overhead rate used during the year in the Preparation and Fabrication Departments.

Critical thinking about cost flow, Critical Thinking about Cost Flow It...

Critical Thinking about Cost Flow It is simple to overlook an important aspect of cost flow within a manufacturing operation. If you see that have taken note of an important co

Apply the payback criterion and discounted payback criterion, Consider the ...

Consider the following two mutually exclusive projects:   Whichever project you choose, if any, you require a 15 percent return on your investment.   a. If you apply the payb

Calculate the opportunity costs, Suppose the Danny can prepare 50 pizzas or...

Suppose the Danny can prepare 50 pizzas or 100 sandwiches in an hour and Steve can produce 15 pizzas or 9 sandwiches. a) Draw each individual's PPF. b) Calculate the oppor

Example of economic order quantity, Example of Economic Order Quantity ...

Example of Economic Order Quantity The EOQ model supposes : - Annual demand is recognized - Hold costs are constant and recognized - Ordering costs are recognized a

Product costing, scope and limitations of product costing

scope and limitations of product costing

Objectives of budgetary planning, Objectives of Budgetary Planning 1...

Objectives of Budgetary Planning 1) Coordination The budgetary process needs that visible detailed budgets are developed to cover every activity, function or department

Explain how individual items of costs will be traced, Glaser Health Product...

Glaser Health Products of Ranier Falls, Georgia, is organized functionally into three divisions: Operations, Sales, and Administrative. Purchasing, receiving, materials and product

Determine which project is more lucrative - investment , The Zooline Compan...

The Zooline Company (Pty) Ltd is an American based company that focuses on the LSM 8 -10 markets. They do vehicle interiors, raise or lower suspensions and install top end sound sy

Write Your Message!

Captcha
Free Assignment Quote

Assured A++ Grade

Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!

All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd