Example of cash discount, Managerial Accounting

Assignment Help:

M/s ABC's present credit terms are 1/10 net 30 that they are planning to change to 2/10 net 30.  The current average collection period is 20 days and the variable cost to sales ratio is 85 and the cost of capital is 10%.  The proportion of sales on that customers now take discount is .5. After relaxation of discount terms this is assumed that the ACP will decrease to 14 days, sales will rise from Rs.80 lakhs to Rs 85 lakhs and the proportion of discount sales will rise to .8. Tax rate for the firm is 40% compute the effect of above modifications on net profit.

Solution:

? I = (ACPn - ACP0) [S0/360] + V(ACPn)( ?S/360)

? I = 80/360 (20 - 14) - .85 × 5/360 × 14

= 1.1680555 lakhs

 ? DIS   = Pn (S0+ ? S) dn  - P0S0d0

= .96 lakhs

? NP    = ? S (1 - v) - ? DIS] (1 - t) + k ?I

= [5 (1 - .85) - .96] (1 - .4) + .1 ×1.1680555

= (.75 - .96) (.6) + .116805555

=  - .126 + .11680555

=  - .009194 lakhs

As the increase in net profit is negative the cash discount policy must not be liberalized.


Related Discussions:- Example of cash discount

Calculate the standard cost and standard selling of product, Question 1: ...

Question 1: A company's budgeted production of Product Zebra for the month ending 30 November 2004 was 10,000 units. The fixed overheads were budgeted at Rs3,200,000. The st

Duffy tol and stamping, What are the objectives of excellence teams and min...

What are the objectives of excellence teams and minicompanies? Did the companies achieve these objectives?estion #Minimum 100 words accepted#

Find the formula for the quarrys short-run supply curve, Let a quarry's cos...

Let a quarry's cost function of producing Q tons of stone per hour be given by TC = Q 3 - 10Q 2 + 40Q + 25, so that marginal cost function is MC= 3Q 2 - 20Q + 40. (i) Find th

Features of a queue, Features of a queue A calling population – ref...

Features of a queue A calling population – refers to the number of potential customers. This number may be considered finite or infinite. An infinite calling population is

Total overhead cost variance, Problem From the following data, calculat...

Problem From the following data, calculate overhead variances of following: (a) Variable overhead expenditure variance (b) Fixed overhead expenditure variance (c) Total ov

Accepting or rejecting the offer, given a scenario when iddle capacity is l...

given a scenario when iddle capacity is less than the special order.in this case should we accept or reject the order

Cost analysis purposes, Cost Analysis purposes For purposes of cost ana...

Cost Analysis purposes For purposes of cost analysis, the desegregation of the generic value chain into individual value activities should reflect three principles that are not

Stock turnover ratio, opening stock 19000 closing stock 21000 sales 200000 ...

opening stock 19000 closing stock 21000 sales 200000 gross profit 25% on sales calculate stock turnover ratio

Illustrate the steps involved in ratio analysis, Steps involved in ratio an...

Steps involved in ratio analysis The following are the four steps involved in the ratio analysis: 1) selection of relevant data from the financial statement depending upon t

Write Your Message!

Captcha
Free Assignment Quote

Assured A++ Grade

Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!

All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd