Explain the phylum molluska - mollusks, Biology

Explain the Phylum Molluska - Mollusks?

You are probably very familiar with members of this phylum. The mollusks include the octopuses, squids, cuttlefish, scallops, oysters, clams, mussels, slugs, and snails. Even though they widely differ from each other in their overall appearance, upon close inspection, the bodies of all of these animals have several major features in common. All mollusk bodies consist of three main portions: a visceral mass of internal organs; a muscular foot for locomotion; and a mantle, which covers the visceral mass and secretes a shell.

The visceral mass includes the organs that carry out the functions of digestion, reproduction, circulation, and excretion. The mantle is a fold of tissue covering the visceral mass, and produces a water-filled mantle cavity, which bathes the gills. The gills not only exchange gases with the water that surrounds them, but they also help in the feeding process by filtering and funneling food toward the mouth with mucus. Clams, mussels, scallops and oysters are the famous filter feeders of the ocean. The foot in many species is used to help the mollusk move about and to burrow, as in the bivalves, but it may also be adapted to help attach the mollusk to the substrate. The foot in squids and octopuses is highly modified into what we call tentacles, and they are used to capture and kill prey.

Another distinguishing feature that all mollusks (besides bivalves) have is a feeding structure called a radula. A radula is basically a toothed rasping file that is used by herbivorous species to scrape food such as algae off rocks. Vegetable gardeners and farmers are certainly very familiar with the radulae of snails and slugs! Carnivorous mollusks use their radulae to drill through the hard shells of their prey. The radula of the poisonous cone shell has evolved over the years into a poisonous dart, which is used to kill prey. These cone shells are deadly, and, in an instant, have killed humans unfortunate enough to step on them in the ocean.

We will discuss three of the most familiar Classes of Mollusks: Class Gastropoda-the snails and slugs, Class Pelecypoda-the bivalves, and Class Cephalopoda-the squids and octopuses


Posted Date: 5/1/2013 2:01:15 AM | Location : United States

Related Discussions:- Explain the phylum molluska - mollusks, Assignment Help, Ask Question on Explain the phylum molluska - mollusks, Get Answer, Expert's Help, Explain the phylum molluska - mollusks Discussions

Write discussion on Explain the phylum molluska - mollusks
Your posts are moderated
Related Questions
i dont know how to start

lesson plan practical requirements

What are the five human digestive secretions? Which of them is the only one that does not contain digestive enzymes? The human digestive secretions such as: saliva, gastric jui

In biology, a species is smallest and basic unit of classification. Each species is placed within a single genus. For example biological name of human being is homosapiens. Here ho

Define Food quality factors and their measurement? Appearance; textural, flavour, nutritional, sanitary and keeping factors; quality standards, objective and organoleptic evalu

Explain the Food Irradiation - method of food preservation? Food irradiation is another sterilizing technique in which the foods are bombarded by high-energy rays called gamma

Explain about the Toxicity of pyridoxine? Though toxicity related to pyridoxine intake are rare, but use of high doses of pyridoxine for the treatment of pre-menstrual syndrom

Thermal Properties The range of temperature variatidn in the aquatic environment is smaller in comparison to air. This means the rate of change of temperature is slower in the

Name the different level of proteins There are 4 level of proteins:- a) Primary structure b) Secondary structure c) Tertiary structure d) Quaternary structure

The key enzymes of gluconeogenesis,include: a)  Pyruvate carboxylase b)  Phosphoenol pyruvate carboxykinase c)  Fructose- 1,6-bisphosphatase,  and d)  Glucose-6-phosph