The total demand (marginal benefit) curve for visiting the Great Barrier Reef is as follows: Price = 5000+100*Fish Biomass (tons per square mile) -10*Number of Trips.
a. Does the quantity of fish biomass increase or decrease the willingness to pay for an additional trip?
b. Suppose the density of fish is 2 tons per square mile. Draw the demand curve below, being sure to label the axes and the slope and intercept appropriately.
c. Suppose the marine preserve charges an entrance fee of $100. What is the total net benefit to consumers who visit the park (the "consumer surplus")? In answering this question, continue to assume that fish biomass remains at the level in part b. Also, assume that the only cost to visitors is the entry fee (clearly not the case generally).
d. Now assume the park implements a program that drastically limits fishing activities within the preserve and engages in a coral restoration program. The result is a 50% increase in fish biomass from the levels described in part b. Assuming the entrance fee from c) remains the same, what is the new consumer surplus? What is the economic benefit (net of costs) to park visitors from the cleanup program? What is the impact on revenues from park visitation?